Relax πŸ’™

image

image

image

Relax? Sure….easier said than done and for some, like me, it’s a skill that requires a thoughtful practice to learn. It is so easy to get wrapped up in the doing of life, that we forget how to just be. In fact many people find it to be a source of stress and anxiety. I used to be one of those people but I’m very happy to say that I’ve evolved past that level of self inflicted craziness.

At some point I looked at the crazy, wacked out belief system most of us are raised with and it kind of looks like this;
Grow up and hopefully find something to do that we can be passionate about.
Get married, have kids or animals and grind ourself down till we fit in the “Jones” cookie cutter mold.
Work our ass off, doing all the things we think we should be doing and then have a perplexed look on our face and a jilted feeling in our heart when we end up sick before we can retire to enjoy the money, that will now be going to medical bills, instead of roaming the Earth like the gypsy we always were, but denied.
Ugh!

Then there’s the perpetual ‘to do list’, which I admit I still live by. I also admit, I very rarely finish everything on that list, but that’s because I am always adding to it. Thankfully, I’ve learned to include rest and relaxation among the bullet points that stare me down each day. I firmly believe it’s critically important to do so, for our very health and sanity.

In my experience, I’ve found that when I incorporate the elements of self care, including; a balanced diet, exercise, learning, playing, rest and relaxation, everything runs more smoothly and efficiently and I’m certainly happier too.

As a parent it’s easy, at times, to make everything about our kids and I’m not saying it shouldn’t be that way, but I’ve learned, from experience, that my children’s wellbeing is directly related to my wellbeing. If I don’t care for myself, life becomes this slow erotion of the mind, body and soul. We have to nourish ourselves and part of that nourishment is the ability to relax.

So….kick your feet up, listen to some music, go for a walk, write, read or meditate. Whatever it is that allows you to soften your brow and breathe with ease….do that,
and have a great weekend.

πŸ˜‘The Crazy Celt πŸ’š

Leave a comment