“The best way out is always through.”
– Robert Frost

I had a horrible night of sleep, with very vivid dreams that teetered on being nightmares. I have been “blessed/cursed” with having dreams that are complex enough in structure to take on the shape of a novel or movie, but when I dream this way, I wake up feeling as though I got no sleep. It’s like having a dual life.

Upon waking, it’s very clear to me that my subconscious is hard at work trying to figure out answers as to how I should handle a, fast approaching, life changing event. I want to tell my overactive subconscious to calm the hell down, because no decisions can be made without having all of the information.

The power of the mind is amazing and a bit scary when it takes off on its own, like a crazed animal that’s unable to control it’s direction because it’s in flight mode. Luckily, for me, I learned at a very early age to, somewhat, control my dreams. Not necessarily what is going on, or the complete outcome, but my actions within the dream. I’m not able to use this gift in every dream, but usually within, what appears to be, long drawn out dreams that are clearly my subconscious trying to work out a particular situation.

Of course the dream is never exactly what’s happening in my life, but rather sets up situations where I’m having to use similar characteristics as the ‘real world situation’. Some examples would be; courage, conviction, fortitude, bravery and unconditional love. I find it utterly fascinating that the mind can produce scenarios that are so complex and fantasy fictional, while at the same time producing conditions that are requiring the same characteristics necessary for the ‘real world situation’ I am going through.

I always feel a bit more introspective when I wake up from an exhausting night of dreaming and I’m grateful for it. It allows me to pinpoint areas of my character and fortify or relax and let go of my actions, surrounding any given situation that may be weighing heavily on my mind.

All in all, having exhausting dreams that seem to characteristically, circumnavigate the more difficult situations in my life, give me a deeper understanding of what may be at stake for me, on levels that are much more important to me than money or status.

These kind of dreams, depending on the nature and outcome, also act as a compass, and assure me that I’m headed in the right direction, regardless of how stormy things may be at the time. I’m reminded that, in fact, I have my eyes wide open and I choose not to bury my head in the sand. As Frost said, “The best way out is always through.”,
and so I continue.

To the Journey my friends,
The Crazy Celt 💚

image

Leave a Reply

