I’ve always loved Black and White Photography. The clean lines and simplicity tell a story of their own.

image

This is an image of fresh fallen snow on Christmas Day 2015. At the end of South Fork Dr. in Three Rivers, there is a campground known as Ladybug. It’s small and not widely known and is nestled in the Sequoia / Kings National Forest.

image

An image of the south fork of Three Rivers. After several years of drought conditions, making river rafting nearly impossible, the community is looking forward to a healthy river season this year.

image

Looking out over a snowy Ladybug Bridge and up the South Fork River.

image

An image of one of the many trailheads in Ladybug. Mount Denison and Homers Nose are just a couple summits in the area. The John Muir Trail and PCT are both accessible from Ladybug. These trails are not well taken care of, so I don’t recommend these for the inexperienced hiker.

image

A foggy day in Posey CA. I was stationed at one of the 4 resident stations, in the Tulare County Fire Department, for a little over a year. The Posey Fire Station is located at 5000 ft in the Southern Sierras. It is a beautiful area, thick with Oaks, Manzanitas, chaparral and Pines.

image

A storm was rolling in, in late February and the temperature had dropped enough that the rain turned to snow. I snapped this shot of my sister dancing in the snowfall.

image

On a foggy morning hike up Rocky Hill I took this image of the sun just coming up over the hill. I loved the way the fog looked almost like it was cloaking the sun.

image

An image of Mount Denison, which is situated up South Fork, in Three Rivers CA, on a stormy day.

image

During a winter hike at Kaweah Oaks Preserve, just outside of Exeter, CA, I came across this gigantic Oak Tree. I loved the enormity of the tree and the way the brambles enveloped it.

image

The lonely amphitheater. I can only assume that at one time Rangers would tell stories and give the history of the preserve. I always wish the Oaks could speak.

image

The February Snow Moon 2016
Handheld shot taken with a
Nikon D5500 Nikkor 18-300mm Lens
1/250 f6.3 ISO 100

Leave a comment